top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRissa

DFW to Bangkok

Being a "born and raised Ft Worth Texas girl", moving to South East Asia was by the far the biggest move I could have made. Naturally my Mom and Dad were worried and had a handful of opinions but they knew I had David by my side to protect me from all the "scary" things, you know like monkeys. Not only did everyone expect David to protect me they also anticipated he would propose. Of course the thoughts and talks of getting engaged to my best friend excited me but deep down I knew that a ring wouldn't change the dynamic of our relationship. We were on the verge of taking on a life changing adventure, we wanted to truly and deeply indulge in just that. 

 

DEPARTURE TIME!



Talk about a long flight! We landed at around 1 am after a brief layover in Tokyo.

Thankfully David has a good college friend (Mark. T) that is from Bangkok so he was expecting us when we arrived. He took us to a small little corner restaurant/bar for our first Bangkok meal near his house...by this time it was like 2 in the morning or so. He started ordering all sorts of different dishes, my favorite was the lime garlic whole steamed fish yummmmmmm!


The next few days were a complete blur we were fighting jet lag like champs! The time difference from home to Bangkok was 12 hours! So when everyone was getting ready to eat dinner I was getting ready to eat breakfast. We did a total of 10 days in Bangkok and probably gained about 10 lbs from the gigantic dinners Mark's mother (Mom) prepared for us that were deliciousss and the Large Singha beers!


Mom's 5 star, Michelan star rated kitchen is what I would call her dishes she made for us and the family!



 

When you visit Bangkok it's almost always a must to visit the Temples that Thailand is very proud of. Mom was so excited to dress me up in her traditional Thai dresses (Chut Thai).

  • The Grand Palace (Emerald Buddha)

  • Wat Pho (The Reclining Buddha)

  • Wat Arun

Pictures do not do the temples justice. Also I want everyone to know...I am no photographer so forgive me lol I mean I try. I do regret not getting a fancy camera at the beginning of our trip but it's all good. Also can we talk about how HOT it is in Asia! OMG we felt like we were about to have a heat stroke with that heat. I HAVE NO IDEA how people get the cute fancy photos at these places. Because let me tell you...it is blistering hot out here!

 

**If you are looking for backpacker /party scene head to Khao Son Road for cheap accommodations and even cheaper drinks. BEWARE of the buckets!






***** If you are looking for something a little more "risqueee" head to Soi Cowboy in Sukhumvit as seen in "Hangover 2" where things get out of hand with Stu hahahaha!


All I can say about Bangkok is "Whoa, sensory overload!" Massive, hectic, and truly a global city, there is definitely a love/hate relationship here. However it holds a place in our hearts as a place we have friends who care about us and the city where we started our journey!



162 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page