top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRissa

Good Morning, Vietnam!!

We started in the south and worked our way to the north.


Ho Chi Minh was our first stop. 4 days here and it felt like the longest 4 days ever. Here is where i'm going to tell you everything isn't always sunshine and roses.


We booked an airbnb for 4 days but ended up leaving first thing that next morning. We had to walk down dark alleys with people staring at us like we were lost, WHICH WE KIND OF WERE! The place was dirty and our bed was literally a slab of cement 😂 *btw the reviews for this place were like 5 stars and great reviews. Prettyyyyyyy sure those reviews were fake.


Day 2-3 we get to our second place and it is the size of the bed and that's about it! AC barely worked, at this point we are like OMG let's just suck it up and go to the party street and grab some drinks and dinner. We are early birds so we stayed out until about 11pm, went back and tried to sleep until we heard the whole street partying until like 4 AM. We just couldn't catch a break so we left AGAIN!


We finally gave in and David cashed in some points so we booked a nice hotel (out of our budget) to finish our last day in Ho Chi Minh. PHEW we finally got a good nights sleep! We didn't leave that hotel for anything we took full advantage of it. Pool day all day!


On the plus side I tried my first bahn mi!!! I know I know yall can make fun of me for never eating one before this! I remember texting my girls explaining to them I tried this amazing sandwich that is popular here and they quickly were like "you mean a bahn mi?" I look over to David and ask "is this a bahn mi...?" he face palmed and couldn't believe I had never had one of these at home!

They sell bahn mi's on every single corner and i'm not exaggerating some streets you'll even find 2-3 stands within each other. How do they compete?!




And about the party street I mentioned, Bui Vien ! It's your typical party street, bars a clubs. 10 year old kid blowing fire out his mouth for entertainment no big deal ya know! 😂 Anytime you see police officers wearing flip flops means they probably don't care about anything going on!






I read an article a while back about the street and the author wrote " Bui Vien is reality TV without any producers or censors. It’s unabashedly real in the most unreal way possible" and he couldn't be anymore accurate!!


I guess I did forget to mention we did go to the top of Skydeck Bitexco Tower to enjoy a cocktail but mainly to see the view which was pretty spectacular!




David, being a a history buff wanted to visit the "War Remnants Museum" which provides a sobering view of the Vietnam War and the impact it had on the country and its people. Many of the photos and stories were very difficult to look at and read about, but provided so much perspective.



Ho Chi Minh finally came to an end after 4 days! Man oh man!



Next stop Hoi An!!!!!



*I should add that this was OUR experience with Ho Chi Mihn. I've had people tell me they really enjoyed it! So if you ever go to Vietnam don't skip it because of me!



66 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page